An Easy Way to Achieve Your Long-Term Goals

Good morning!

I hope this finds you well.

Welcome to another edition of The Matt Viera Newsletter.

The newsletter with the goal to inspire you to live the life you actually want to live.

Thank you for your continued support.

If you enjoy The Matt Viera Newsletter, please forward this email to one person you believe would enjoy reading this.

Happy New Year!

We are 9 days into 2024.

Did you make any New Year's resolutions?

If so, how are you progressing so far?

While I find the start of a new year an opportunity to improve some areas of my life, I'm not one for "formal" New Year resolutions.

Life (obstacles) always seem to get in the way.

I recently read, "Only 9% of Americans that make resolutions complete them."

Additionally, "23% of people quit their resolution by the end of the first week, and 43% quit by the end of January."

One of the most common reasons is obstacles.

"No matter how small or straightforward the goal is, there is always a chance for an obstacle."

The odds are definitely not in your favor.

But, make no mistake, I am rooting for you because moving the needle forward in goal progression is possible.

Here's a story about how I developed one habit I keep to this day:

On January 2, 2021, I woke up and knew I needed to do something to be more active.

At the time, the world was locked down.

I am (was) an avid runner. A hobby I enjoyed before I enlisted in the US Army. My time in the Army enhanced my love for the sport.

When I started working from home, I believed it was a perfect opportunity to run as often as possible. I planned to run outside on nice days and on the treadmill when it was cold, raining, or snowing outside.

But, according to Newton's First Law of Motion, "A body at rest tends to stay at rest."

I didn't run. I didn't do anything active while the world (and gyms) were locked down.

So, I woke up on January 2, 2021, and decided I had to do something.

I sat drinking my morning cup of coffee, wondering what to do.

So, I decided to go for a walk.

And it was a great way to start the day.

And because that first walk was such a positive experience for me, I decided I would walk every morning when I woke up.

Not only that, I figured if I wasn't going to run, the least I could do was up my walking game.

So I decided to wear a weighted backpack (soldiers refer to this as "rucking" - an exercise that can burn as many calories as running).

I started light, maybe 10 - 15 pounds, and gradually increased the weight and the distance I rucked.

I was at a point I was rucking with ~40+ pounds of weight for 4+ miles, 5 - 6 days per week.

I'd wake up at 5:30am, enjoy my morning coffee, throw on my gear, and off I went. Rain, snow, and ice on the ground didn't matter. I even went when the temperature was ~14 degrees outside.

Then, I was mandated to return to the office.

I didn't let that stop me.

Since I was rucking 4+ miles daily, rucking from downtown Manhattan to my office in midtown was a little over 2 miles. I started to ruck on my way to work and after work. I put a 25-pound weighted vest into my small backpack and rucked every day twice per day.

I don't ruck to the office every morning like I used to, but I never miss a day to ruck after work (unless there's a severe storm outside).

Today, my afternoon rucks are the best part of my day.

It gets me outside and I am not rushing to do anything.

It's a great way to end what may be a chaotic day in the office.

So why am I telling you about my experience with rucking?

Because I found one activity I enjoy that I can do it on a near-daily basis without any excuses.

My challenge to you, whatever your goals are, or instead, whatever your new year resolution is: find that one activity you find extreme pleasure in that you can do on a near daily basis without any excuses.

Start small and build. Eliminate the obstacles. More importantly, eliminate the excuses.

Here are three more tips to help you achieve your goals:

First, make "behavior-based" rather than "outcome-based" goals.

For example, instead of "I'm going to lose 20 pounds," set a goal that you'll run, walk, or go to the gym 3-5 times per week.

Second, track your progress. If you aim to hit the gym at least 3 times per week, track the days you go for 90 days. Don't worry about weight loss; weigh yourself at the start of the 90 days and at the end.

Third, find what's working and what's not, then double down on what's working.

If going to the gym after work is not working for you, and you find it easy and rewarding to hit the gym before work, double down on going in the morning.

It's challenging to ruck to work in the morning because I have to be in the office by 8:00am (my time is limited). However, after work, I am not limited by time and hate being in a crowded subway (subways tend to be crowded at about 4:00pm and not at 5:00pm). Rucking after work solves that problem and makes commuting home more enjoyable.

I promise you, if I can ruck nearly every day for 3+ years (despite Newton's First Law of Motion), you can not only achieve your goals (or resolutions), you can turn at least one of them into a daily habit that you won't want to miss.

I hope 2024 exceeds all of your expectations!

Interesting reads:

Speaking of goals, what are your travel goals for 2024? Are you perhaps dreaming big to stay in one of these sexy hotels?

You can find the collection of my favorite financial tools & resources by clicking here.

Thanks for reading!

Please feel free to reply to this email with suggestions, questions, or comments.

I read every email.

If you have a question about personal finance, travel, or mini-retirements, email me and ask and I’ll discuss the answer in a future article.

If you enjoy The Matt Viera Newsletter, please forward this email to one person you believe would enjoy reading this.

I’m ready to follow you on X (formerly know as Twitter)!

I definitely want to read past articles of The Matt Viera Newsletter!

I’m not a subscriber to The Matt Viera Newsletter and I’m ready to subscribe!